Steering Committee

The MnLTAP Steering Committee governs the tactical implementation of program activities and the expenditure of program funds. The committee works with the program director to make sure the funding organization's requirements are met.

The Steering Committee meets at least twice each year to provide direction to and approval of program activities, including annual plans, work programs, and budgets. Committee members are selected based on their interest in contributing to transportation technology transfer. They provide input into identifying local agency training and technology transfer needs and priorities.

Members also review and provide feedback and suggest improvements for LTAP program services and special projects, and they provide LTAP staff with information regarding technology transfer/research implementation opportunities and success stories. In addition, members act as a communication liaison for their respective organizations by identifying partnership opportunities and exchanging information about the state and national LTAP programs.


  • Kristine Elwood
    Kristine Elwood, Chair
    Assistant Commissioner, State Aid, MnDOT
  • Lon Aune
    Lon Aune
    County Engineer, Marshall County
    Chair, Minnesota Local Road Research Board
  • Ross Beckwith
    Ross Beckwith
    Director of Public Works/City Engineer, City of West St. Paul
    Representing City Engineers Association of MN
  • Mark Duchene
    Mark Duchene
    Director of Engineering, City of Faribault
    Representing City Engineers Association of MN
  • Jed Falgren
    Jed Falgren
    Assistant District Engineer Office of Maintenance, MnDOT
  • Tim Kieffer
    Tim Kieffer
    Director of Public Works, City of Golden Valley
    Representing Minnesota Street Superintendents Association
  • Jeff Krueger
    Jeff Krueger
    Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Townships
  • Will Manchester
    Will Manchester
    City Engineer, City of Minnetonka
    Representing LRRB Research Implementation Committee
  • JinYeen Neumann
    JinYeen Neumann
    County Engineer, Carlton County
    Representing Minnesota County Engineers Association
  • Tim Plath
    Tim Plath
    Deputy Director of Public Works, City of Eagan
    Representing American Public Works Association – MN
  • Kyle Shelton
    Kyle Shelton
    Center for Transportation Studies, University of Minnesota
  • Jason Spilak
    Jason Spilak
    Local Programs Engineer, Federal Highway Administration
  • Katie Walker
    Katie Walker
    Director, Office of Research & Innovation, MnDOT
  • Andrew Witter
    Andrew Witter
    Public Works Director/County Engineer, Sherburne County
    Representing Minnesota County Engineers Association