2016 Roads Scholars

2015 Roads Scholar Graduates

Congratulations to the 2015 graduates of the Roads Scholar Program! Minnesota LTAP honored 17 grads at a ceremony held May 19, 2016, at the Minnesota Roadway Maintenance Training and Demo Day in Little Falls, Minnesota.

Comments from some of the new Roads Scholars: 

  • Tom Zabinski: "LTAP's programs provide a wide variety of applicable training that I can use to do my job duties better."
  • Gary Guse: "It gave me more training and knowledge that I will use for the rest of my career."
  • Jim Romanik: "The information I learned has prepared me to do my job quickly and efficiently. The classes have also helped me bring new ideas back to my organization."

To become a Roads Scholar, participants must earn eight credits within five years from a combination of required and elective courses. Training options include LTAP workshops, Circuit Training and Assistance Program (CTAP) workshops, and other events. More than 2,700 students are currently enrolled, and 122 participants have graduated since 2005.

2015 Graduates

Troy Brink

Troy Brink, City of Maplewood

Brent Buckley

Brent Buckley, City of

Tom Debilzan

Tom Debilzan, City of

Gene Enos

Gene Enos, Olmsted County

Gary Guse

Gary Guse, Fish Lake

Joe Hanegmon

Joe Hanegmon, St. Louis

Steve Lawrence

Steve Lawrence, City of
Brooklyn Center

Kevin Lindquist

Kevin Lindquist, Rice County

William Meyer

William Meyer, City of Coon

Troy Osborn

Troy Osborn, City of Coon

Keith Retting

Keith Retting, City of

Jim Romanik

Jim Romanik, City of Oakdale

David Stifter

David Stifter, City of Champlin

Mark Townsend

Mark Townsend, City of

Chad Walters

Chad Walters, St. Louis

Thomas Zabinski

Thomas Zabinski, City of
St. Cloud

Students who completed their coursework by December 31, 2015, are considered the Class of 2015.

Not pictured: Trent Jutting, City of Savage