2009 Roads Scholars

2012 Roads Scholar Graduates

The Road Scholars graduation ceremony took place May 1, 2013, at the Minnesota Roadway Maintenance Training and Demo Day in Rochester, where Minnesota LTAP director Jim Grothaus presented eight graduates with a certificate of achievement. “We value and appreciate the time and energy they’ve invested,” Grothaus said. “Today we honor students who have recognized the value and benefit of gaining new knowledge and improving skills.”

More than 2,200 students from all over Minnesota are enrolled in the Roads Scholar program, which combines a range of training options into a structured curriculum. The program, in its eighth year, awards certificates to maintenance workers who complete a variety of training workshops and programs. 

To become a Roads Scholar, participants must earn eight credits within five years from a combination of required and elective courses. Training options include LTAP workshops, Circuit Training and Assistance Program (CTAP) workshops, and other events. Ninety participants have graduated since 2005.

Comments from the Class of 2012

“I used ideas from the Road Scholar program for storm pods. We were able to bring these ideas to our bosses and lay it out there for them. The ideas we got from this program were the most helpful for me. Because of this program, we also started using geolinking fabric that we never used before.”

—Keith Raines, City of Shakopee

“I was able to take away a lot of things from the program to use in my work life. I really liked the GPS class, for trucking. It was very practical. I’d highly recommend the program. There were many different classes, and the program covered a lot of subjects.”

—Todd Majerus, Goodhue County

“The blacktop classes helped me the most. They were relatable to what I do. It’s a good program, and a lot of information is in the classes.”

—Jamison Theis, City of Shakopee

2012 Graduates

Jeffrey Evens

Jeffrey Evens, Carver County
Public Works Department

Todd Marjerus

Todd Majerus, Goodhue
County Public Works

William Neeck

William Neeck, City of Coon
Rapids Public Works Department

Keith Raines

Keith Raines, City of Shakopee
Public Works Department

Kelly Rux

Kelly Rux, City of Shakopee
Public Works Department

Michael Sable

Michael Sable, City of Rogers
Public Works Department

Jamison Theis

Jamison Theis, City of
Shakopee Public Works

Kelly Wagener

Kelly Wagener, City of Waconia

Students who completed their coursework by December 31, 2012, are considered the Class of 2012.